Eat your empanadas or you don’t get your salad.

As we travelled down to Nuevo Chique today on the subte, I noticed something. Apart from the fact that it was very crowded, every one in my line of sight was staring into a mobile phone. You might think that I am old fashioned, but why not talk to the person you are with? I now carry mine with me everywhere, but virtually the only time I look at it is to use the Spanish dictionary. Then, of course, the odd time I post a check in, but that is just for my fans at home.

Nuevo Chique itself was quiet today. We think it was partly to do with El Arranque re-opening, but again it was a mainly tourist crowd. Even the locals were complaining, funny how they have taken us in, and do not consider us outsiders. No pleasing Viv, she likes it quieter but now complains that there are not enough men. So despite our commitment to stay longer tonight we left at seven. She was bored.  I spent a lot of time trying to avoid Margarita. Not that I don’t enjoy dancing with her, but there are a lot of other ladies to dance with. I appreciate the attention, but it makes it hard for me to cabeceo other ladies.

After we left we headed for El Revolucionario again. We had “Scotch Beer” as there was no stout. “Still black but smoother” she said. More like brown ale than stout but still pleasant. They can’t get used to our way of eating, we asked for empanadas with our salad, but empanadas are served first and they would not bring the salad until we had eaten them. We had to go and ask for bread, as they did not bring any. As I have said “It is not a top class restaurant” that may be the case, but our girl is always pleasant and you can’t argue the price. £11 for a meal for two with beer, better than Weatherspoons.

Leave a comment

Filed under Argentina, milonga, Tango

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

