El gran fin de semana

Strange place this, it is a bank holiday weekend so nothing is open. Just like anywhere else, you would think, but you would be wrong. The ferreteria across the road is open, the salad shop (that is never open) is open and quite a veritety of places are open. Now on bank holidays people are off, and when they are off they go out. Non of the museums are open, many of the bars are shut as are some of the Ice-cream shops. As I said, it is all a bit strange. Not put off we decided to go to Easy, because Viv wanted a reading lamp. Not only did we get a lamp but we had a choice of bulbs. We were able to test them in the display lamp so we now have one that suits Vivs needs. With a 28W energy saver it is quite a powerful thing. We finally found a shoe rack as well, although it does look like it may not last very long. Shopping done, we stopped at Murilla (Pronounced Murisha) for some juice before the walk home. All set up and tidy now we can go off to Obalisco for the afternoon. We expected our faithful 168 collectivo to be nearly empty, as it is a ferria, but no way it was packed to the brim. We got off again at Carlos Calvo, hot and flustered. When we got to Obalisco it was also full to bursting. I was squashed between tree men and had to move one of them every time I wanted to sit down or get up. This I did quite a lot, so many women. That said I think that there were many men that Viv knew. I did see her miss the odd tanda but all in all she did well. Then The German guy got her up. Considering Viv does not dance open hold and do ganchos, she followed him well. She did not realize that I was dancing just behind her, my dance partner had no idea what was amusing me so much. I danced with the lady from Galicia again, she has taken to calling me “Flaco”. I told Viv and she said “Gordo, more like”, She speaks more Spanish than she lets on.

Viv said 7:30 to eight so when the tropical started at just after 7:30 I called time. We reached Humberto Primero just as our 151 pulled out. There was no way he was stopping for us now, so we resigned to a bit of a wait. When the 90 arrived I asked if it went our way, the driver said it did so we jumped on. When I gave up my seat for an old lady she regaled Viv about the youth of today. Viv just looked totally blank, it was quite amusing really. Again the bus turned off before Corrientes, because of the carnival, they said. So we jumped off. I stopped at Farricci on the way, for some ice-cream to have with our after dinner brownie. It set it off quite well, the trouble is we need more brownie now to finish the ice-cream. Viv said “then we will need more ice-cream to finish off the brownie”. “And the problem is?” but she was having non of it. She had seen through my plan. Far too tired for any of that murga madness tonight. Early night I think.

Leave a comment

Filed under Argentina, Tango

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

