Cat attack

A good start to the day, we got some place mats and all the food for lunch, on our first sortie.
I left Viv to go back and I went to the Correo. That’s the electric bill paid, again no problems. There is a hairdresser on the same block on Corrientes, got my hair done for $70. That is half the price at home. I even stopped for some salad at the verduria.
Now, suddenly there are Pagofacil everywhere and Peluqueria on every corner. A bit like the busses really.
Everything done by eleven, perhaps I should go and look for a shoe rack while I am winning, but maybe not as Janis is coming for lunch.
Viv whipped up a great pasta and I prepared a salad. Janis kept us talking for hours, then it was time to rush off to Nuevo Chique.
Geoff and Pauline were there again, apparently she was ill last week and that is why she was missing.
Danced with all my usual ladies, but missed Pauline. They had to rush off and I did not see them go.
The drivers on the collectivos must think we are strange. We always ask for Guardia Vieja and then get off at Corrientes. The thing is halfway home we decide to call into La Riena for something tasty to take home with us. They had cheese straws and scones again, well you just have to.
Viv saw the cat as we entered, I did not. Cats, it seems, enjoy annoying dog people, this one was no exception. It decided to pounce and grab my leg as I passed. I nearly jumped out of my skin. For a few seconds I had no idea what was holding my leg or why.
I probably won’t sleep tonight, cat nightmares.
Money is getting short and it is difficult to get more over here, so Janis told me about Azimo. It looks a simple system, until it asked for an image of my Passport, that took three attempts, as I do not have a scanner here. My next problem is that it needs to verify my card. We are out of banking hours, so I have messaged my bank. I need to wait now and see what happens. Something else to loose sleep over.

4 Comments

Filed under Argentina, Tango

4 responses to “Cat attack

  1. tangobob

    With no scanner here, I just had problems trying to king a decent image with my camera.Serves me right for trying to operate from Argentina. Thank you for your concern.

  2. Hi there!

    We’re really sorry to hear about the difficulties you had with our compliance system – as I’m sure you appreciate we need to have these measures in place to keep our customers money safe.

    Please do email support@azimo.com if you have any questions and one of our customer support team would be delighted to help.

    #TeamAzimo

  3. tangobob

    I rely on my spellchecker too much, unfortunately it does not recognise Spanish words like Correo.

  4. jantango

    I have more hair to manage than you do, and my haircut costs only 80 pesos. They probably used an electric trimmer on yours that took 5-10 minutes.

    Little did I know I was going to get to see the entire photo collection with beautiful music from the Camino de Santiago trip — all 90 minutes of it. Viv is an expert photographer as a novice. What beautiful scenery and buildings. I read all your posts, but hearing you both talk about the adventure during the viewing gave me a better sense of what the experience meant to you. Many couples in retirement decide to sell their home and live out of suitcases in rental places where they enjoy new adventures daily. They have more freedom, meet new people, and enjoy learning new cultures. It sounds like Viv would be happy with a rucksack on her back and relieved of taking care of the house, cooking, shopping, etc. in exchange for a carefree life on the road. There is no law that says you must own property to live your life as you want. Lifestyles are changing, especially for retired folks who aren’t afraid to do things differently.

    Take a digital photo of your passport pages and upload it to the Azimo registration page. Simple. Once that is accomplished, you can withdraw money from your bank account and collect it at a money transfer agency nearby. It would have been better to arrange this before arriving in BA, but it can be done here. You don’t have to go to Colonia, Uruguay by boat to withdraw dollars there only to exchange at a cueva in Buenos Aires.

    Nothing to worry about. Sleep tight, sweet dreams. You’re getting a taste of life in a new country. Until this year, you’ve only visited Buenos Aires for a short vacation. You and Viv are finally having a long-term stay in your apartment and getting used to the language, the culture, and how things are so different here. Wanting things to be the same as they are at home doesn’t change anything. Once you know how things operate, you’ll enjoy your time in Buenos Aires even more.

    Now, for a little Spanish lesson. The mail is correo, not coreo. It’s a tricky word to pronounce because it has a double “r” which requires rolling the tongue. The fruit and vegetable stand is a verduleria, not verduria. The “e” in Spanish is pronounced like a short “a”, so it’s Obelisco with an “e” rather than “a”. Thank goodness Spanish has only five vowels sounds, not the 26 English has.

    When we parted, I took the bus to the theater on Cordoba to buy tickets for Friday night only to discover that the box office was closed AND the Friday night opening performance was postponed a week. This is Argentina. That’s life. I smile and laugh more all the time when this happens.

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

