Last Man Standing

A busy day, we had decided to finish the bathroom in one go. After Christmas we will be busy so the main salon and kitchen will be enough of a challenge.
The area outside the bathroom and bedroom we could do as well. It would save me on rollers by doing the two together. Anyway when the ceilings were done and I was just painting the walls, when the phone rang. It was Janis, wanting to talk castillano. It was my own fault I said I needed to practice. Well Philippe talks castillano like a Porteño, I never understand him. Janis talks castillano like an American, this is no bad thing, it means I can actually understand her.
We had quite a long conversation, with the odd break to consult Viv, who actually understood quite a bit as well. Trouble was I needed to cut in (Paint the edges) and for that I needed two hands. So I could no longer hold the phone to my ear. Still it was good while it lasted and we arranged to meet up on Sunday, for pizza and some more castillano.
When we arrived at Fulgor Norma was standing out side having a cigarette. She said that there was no one in there, she was right, and there was no music yet. Ruben started the music for us, but it was lacking somewhat. Gradually more people arrive, but it never got to more than a couple of dozen.
We got Ruben to turn the music up a little, and after a DeAngelis Vals tanda the music did improve. We even, at one point had everyone up dancing.
Several times some younger people arrived and then left. At Ten thirty I thought that the late milonga would not be on, and I was right. The DJ never arrived and by eleven there was only us and Elsa and Bob left. A case of last man standing.
I love this club, but like all the places we go that have an older crowd, I wonder how long can it go on?

Finally a link to another blogger who was at the Gran milonga with Janis and me, enjoy http://www.millenniumdragon.blogspot.com.ar/2014/12/tango-ever-alive-in-buenos-aires.html

2 Comments

Filed under Argentina, Tango

2 responses to “Last Man Standing

  1. tangobob

    It was by no means a criticism of your accent, more that you are clear. Potrteños speak castillano, like Glaswegians speak English, it’s the same language, but only just.
    How could you learn the national anthem? It’s the longest in the world. I get bored before the intro is finished.

  2. jantango

    I’ll admit that I speak Castellano like an American, but most Argentines can understand me. I slowed my normal speak for you. After almost 16 years in Buenos Aires and one year with citizenship, I’m ashamed to admit I still don’t know the national anthem.

    You’ll hear another Spanish accent entirely in Cordoba.

    Most milongas around the holidays have a smaller attendance. Dancers are either getting an early start on vacation or just not in the mood during the heat wave.

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

