Great Break

After what was a great break in the Lakes, we took a couple of days rest. This gave us a chance to pop down to Upton Magna for their saturday milonga. It was however a bit on the run as we had only just driven back and had barely unpacked. Still we got some tango in.
We did give a bit of a demo at the goodbye party, so we had actually tangoed two nights on the run. Ok we rehearsed the day before so we had tangoed three nights on the run. But to be fair we only really danced with each other.
I can heartily recommend HF Holidays at Monk Coniston, the food was superb, the room with a view was almost out of this world, and the guides were knowledgable and friendly. It was a joy to be in a house of Beatrix Potter and to explore the walled garden just like Peter Rabbit. All things must come to an end though and we were now back home again.
We rested a couple of days and were ready for the off again; this time we planned to walk The Sandstone Trail backwards. Well what can I say, it all went well except for a few blisters and my annoyance that we could not find budget accommodation anywhere. It is little wonder people no longer holiday at home, for the price of my three nights away I could have had a fortnight in Benidorm.
Still we achieved what we wanted; covered a quarter of the distance of the camino and climbed more mountains than we would ever see there, so I was happy.
Now we had done all this, it was time for some tango. As luck would have it my break coincided with the Rudolfo y Miho weekend in Wilmslow. Saturday night we attended the Milonga and had a great time. I have to thank DJ John Tan for some wonderful music. He also introduced me to some D’Arienzo milongas that I did not know, these are now in my list. It is good to find another DJ who really understands what being a tango DJ is all about.
We had a good night in the Premier Inn as well. There was a live singer in there when we returned. A few drinks with friends, a raucous group at the bar and Bob does Modern Jive(untrained), all created a great night. No idea what time we got to bed, but we were all up again in time for a hearty breakfast.
Sunday and we went to the social colgadas workshop. Rudolfo will never teach anything you cannot do in a Milonga, but in this case I think he taught something we can never do! but we will keep trying.
So there was just our Monday practica and then it is back to work again for Bob. Still this is the last break I will have officially, but I suspect with my rundown to retirement there may be times when I have so many free days we may get away again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Tango

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

