Good News

Viv has had me doing domestic stuff today, so our adventures are limited. But we did go to Plaza Almagro and sit in the sun eating some excellent neo italiano ice cream.
On the way there we pass a vacant lot. It has been vacant ever since we have been coming here but now I have noticed this.20130510_152351
Basically they are building a recreational space two doors down from us. I don’t expect to see it this time, but hopefully we will have what is in effect a garden on our block by next time we come.
The old guy was at the door again in Fulgor. It is little wonder that the numbers are down. Every time I come he tries to block me, this time he sat cursing and muttering because I gave him a $50 note. Somebody at some time has to give change and how difficult was it for him to give me two $10 notes?
It got me thinking, what made me come back after the first time? We were treated like naughty children and made to sit at the back. The dancing here is no way puro tango and it is a fair old walk every time. I guess I will never know what made me return, but now we are part of the furniture. I suspect we will still be coming here when the old guy finally has his way and no one comes through the door again.

4 Comments

Filed under Argentina, Tango

4 responses to “Good News

  1. Pingback: Bailerines mas famosa | The life of a frustrated Milonguero

  2. tangobob

    I agree, although it saddens me. What with more and more cumbia and less tango I too can see it closing.
    As for work in progress, see the next blog.

  3. jantango

    Do you really think that little park area on your block is going to be finished by the time you return in October 2014? Progress moves as a snail’s pace in this city, so don’t hold your breath.

    Someone should tell Roberto Orlando that the guy at the door is turning away business right and left with his rude behavior. He has the wrong job. Most organizers are happy when people want to hand them money to use the space to dance a few hours and have something to eat while there. I won’t be surprised if Orlando closes his milonga at Club Fulgor de Villa Crespo before you retire next year. The other nights at the club are full with young dancers who will happily take over on Thursday and Sunday nights. Venues for dances are at a premium in Buenos Aires.

    Glad to hear that you’re helping Viv with the domestic chores.

  4. Bob wrote: “this time he sat cursing and muttering because I gave him a $50 note. Somebody at some time has to give change and how difficult was it for him to give me two $10 notes?

    I do wonder why aversion to change giving is so strong on BA. Once I couldn’t get my laundry because the counter refused to give me change for $10. Surely they don’t think we foreigners are better at passing counterfeits than themselves! 🙂

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

