Jenny and Ricardo

Well to be honest, I was not looking forward to the class. It has been a long time since we have attended a group class of any kind and I am not the best of students. Still I went with an open mind and a vague recollection of enjoying their classes all those years ago.

So it just goes to show even a frustrated old milonguero like me can learn something new, and enjoy the experience at the same time.

The Friday night class was all about milonga. We learned a spin move and a wide choice of endings. Jenny was lovely, as always, and struggled to teach us while Ricardo spread his own kind of anarchy. At least that is how it appeared to me, but in fact they worked together as a team and managed to make the difficult simple and the mundane entertaining.

Saturday night was the big milonga; Now as many of you will know, I take the music seriously. Argentine tango, to me, is not Argentine tango without Argentine Tango music. It seems an obvious thing, but a knowledge of the music is often lacking this far north. Well tonight we had a treat at a stratospheric level.

Mabel from Cardiff was doing the music, she displayed an understanding of the music that I have not seen before outside of Buenos Aires, it was an absolute joy to dance every tanda. It is not the normal custom here, but after La Cumparsita I started clapping and as if to prove that I was not alone in enjoying the evening soon everyone was clapping with me. I thanked Mabel before I left and I want to thank her again here. Thank You Mabel!

Jenny and Ricardo did a wonderful demo for us which everyone enjoyed so much they were called back for an encore. Unprepared Mabel was asked to choose anything, were I not already married I would have proposed on the spot, she chose Angel D’Agostino, Cafe Dominguez.

Frambuesas con nata played some wonderful music in their interlude, Hotel Victoria, Poema, and then Percale I was in heaven. They really do get better every time I hear them, expect the Argentine tour sometime soon.

Sunday was about colgadas, now old traditionalist Bob doesn’t approve of colgadas. Anything that breaks the connection should not be in a milongueros repertoire. But again I went with an open mind and at least we could learn some teaching techniques. Well the first thing we learned was to forget all that hanging outside the frame we have seen before, this was to be colgadas in the close hold. (You speeky my language). By the end I think we had the basics, a long way from perfect but I can work on it.

Often at these weekends, we have been given that many moves that it all blurs into a kind of fog, but Jenny and Ricardo gave us just enough to work on and that my small brain can hold.

So, in summary: Great classes. awesome music and we caught up with many old friends that we have not seen for some while. Despite missing the “most important class where I named my toes” and if you know what on earth Ricardo was on about, please tell.

7 Comments

Filed under Dance Venues and Schools, Tango

7 responses to “Jenny and Ricardo

  1. Actually Ricardo is Porteño.

    Regardless, I’ve never seen his colgada spins danced in a BA milonga. And I must say I hope I never do.

  2. tangobob

    “Frame”?? I do wonder where these teachers get such ideas from. Not BA, for sure.

    Actually Ricardo is Porteño. Perhaps it is my wording that is lacking. It is perhaps best to remember that these are my ramblings and opinions as accurate as I can make them, but I am fallible.
    I am always glad to have dialogue, it helps me to understand how others view my writing.

  3. The event was organised by Tango Cheshire

    Thanks. My estimation of Tango Cheshire is raised accordingly.

    What we learned to do was hang inside the frame

    “Frame”?? I do wonder where these teachers get such ideas from. Not BA, for sure.

  4. tangobob

    I am humbled, to correct Jantango. You will get revenge next time we are at a milonga together. (not so long now).

    It is not that difficult to keep me happy. Just know and understand the music, there are many DJ’s in Buenos Aires that do it every night I am there.

  5. tangobob

    The event was organised by Tango Cheshire, Mabel, I’m afraid is not the regular DJ here. You need tango west or tangoin cardiff.

    Well the first thing we learned was to forget all that hanging outside the frame we have seen before, this was to be colgadas in the close hold.

    You are quite right, it is a contradiction in terms. Hence my not being particularly keen on doing them. What we learned to do was hang inside the frame, so although pulling away, we never broke the embrace. I’m afraid that as yet I have not fully got the hang of it.(sorry for the pun). Hopefully it will become part of my vocabulary someday, with a lot of practice.

  6. Hi Bob. Thanks for that report. It always nice to see news of good DJing. Can you say who organised this event, and where?

    Well the first thing we learned was to forget all that hanging outside the frame we have seen before, this was to be colgadas in the close hold.

    Isn’t this a contradcition in terms? ‘Colgada’ means hung.

  7. jantango

    Three cheers for Mabel for keeping a frustrated milonguero happy with the music. That’s not an easy task.

    The next time you hear me mispronouce D’Agostino, please correct me. I have no problem with D’Arienzo or Di Sarli, but have said DI AGOSTINO for years.

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

