We all fall down

Well, my proud boast that I have never lost a lady yet is dead. It did not happen in tango, I hasten to add, but still I am in disgrace.

It all started with Viv saying “It is all getting too serious, we should have some other music”. So we decided to do a Club Fulgor and have a “Tropical” section in the middle.

I chose a variety of music, Cha cha, Salsa, meringue, just something lively to ring the changes.

We had takers for the cha cha, but no one for the meringue. So Bob the hero got up and said “I will show you”. “Just step, one, two, three, four, and I will lead you around”. It all went very well until; I had the lady behind me and spun her around. Her shoe flew off. She lost balance and I attempted to keep hold.

I suspect I saved her from injuring her wrists by keeping hold of her arms, but it did nothing to save her from the fall. Then ignominiously I crashed down besides her.

Fortunately we did not have a big crowd this week, so my embarrassment was not too great.

Fortunately we have not joined the litigation culture and we had a good laugh about it, but meringue is off the play list for a while.

Today we compared bruises, well I kept mine hidden. I am not exactly a Chippendale and my bruise is in a place reserved for Vivs viewing only.

1 Comment

Filed under Tango

One response to “We all fall down

  1. jantango

    Viv had the right idea. Tropical music should relax everyone with a change of pace. Merengue has to be the simpliest of dances. The challenge is getting men to moves their hips. As I recall, Viv is very good at that!

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

