Choices

It seems my choice of music last week was not the most popular. Still it proves a point: they are getting to know the artists. About halfway through the night, they all said “Bob you know what we want” “What is that I asked” “Francisco Canaro” they all chorused.

I am nothing if not flexible, and as a reward for their knowledge, the last hour was solid Canaro.

A group such as ours is a fragile thing, so I must do all I can to keep them here, as long as it is traditional tango music and only salon style dancing, I am happy.

To illustrate what I mean about fragility; five of our regulars did not turn up this week. From a group of ten this could be disaster, but as usual we were saved by a whole new influx, and we had a record crowd of a dozen.

The living room door is now off, it does not really give more room to dance, but it does stop half our dancers being wiped out every time someone wants to enter the floor.

I am thinking Rudolfo Biagi for this week, that should liven them up. I just have to think of a good contrast that will not leave them bored. All suggestions welcomed (anyone says Gotan and they will go onto my ignore list).

3 Comments

Filed under milonga, Tango

3 responses to “Choices

  1. Oops, sorry for the “testkjlk2” – that comment was from me.

  2. I am thinking Rudolfo Biagi for this week, that should liven them up. I just have to think of a good contrast that will not leave them bored. All suggestions welcomed

    TANGO

    Sin palabras 1946
    Café de los angelitos 1945
    Hoy te quiero mucho más 1945
    Esta noche me emborracho 1946

    Racing Club 1950
    El internado 1953
    Cielito mío 1954
    El recodo 1952

    La chacarera 1940
    A mí no me interesa 1940
    Son cosas del bandoneón 1939
    Guapo y varón 1940

    VALS

    Tu melodía 1945
    Por un beso de amor 1940
    Cuatro palabras 1941

    Amor y vals 1942
    Mañana por la mañana 1946
    Paloma 1945

    MILONGA

    Pobre negrito (Flor de Monserrat) 1945
    Con mi perro 1946
    Campo afuera 1939

  3. jantango

    Bob,
    You have found the perfect way to help dancers become familiar with each orchestra by focusing on one or two during each practica. Their request certainly confirms that they are getting to know the music.

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

