What a success!

What a success! OK we only had just over half a dozen people, but they all came to dance and to enjoy themselves.

I worried at the start that we would have all men, but, as always, the women were late and soon we had an excess. One more woman than the men was, I think, a good balance.

I am learning as I go and the format changed from what I first envisaged. My first thoughts were to just have one artist all night, but that, I thought would get a bit samey. So I made some posters with the names of the orchestras on them and changed them as the night went on.

I kept it simple though, we started with DiSarli, then D’Arienzo and finished with a couple of Pugliese, for those who like that sort of thing.

Somewhere in the middle we did a demo of Kizomba, some though were not impressed, but as we pointed out “we have only had one lesson”.

The small amount of food that we had on was nibbled at and was quite sufficient, drinks were quaffed, but as most were driving I got little help with the Argentine Malbec and had to drink almost the whole bottle myself. Due to a mix up with Dairycrest we had a juice lake, which then stayed in the fridge as we forgot to put it out, so now we will be drinking juice until it comes out of our ears.

Funny how we all got up to dance at the same time and all stopped for a rest together, it was even more sociable than I envisaged. Instead of a changing corner we had the stairs, so than anyone sitting out could see all the action.

We are having a second practica next week, but it looks like most of this weeks attendees will not be there, hopefully a whole new crowd will come and experience the Gresford welcome. After that we are off on the OGG1 grand summer tour where we hope to be seeing more tango around the UK.

On a different subject; I paid for my magazine advert today and on entering the office I was greeted by Jill with a cheery “Hi Bob” not that unusual you may think, but Jill (Editor owner and general do everything) has seen me only once, and then I was stressed out and rushing around trying to sort out the problems with my SEAT. I am constantly amazed at how some people have this ability to remember other people from the merest of contacts a talent that I am sadly lacking. So if I pass you by without a wave nudge me and say who you are, I am not ignoring you, just stupid.

2 Comments

Filed under milonga, Tango

2 responses to “What a success!

  1. Arlene

    Glad to hear it all went well. Well done to you both!

  2. Anna

    Glad it went well

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

