Feliz Navidad

I hope everyone had a good Christmas. As usual things have gone a bit quiet twixmas.

Last Monday we had a class in Chester that involved some balloon work. As the numbers were more or less balanced, I sat out and just watched the fun. The people taking part in the class seemed to have enjoyed it, but sitting on the sidelines, I was in stitches most of the time.  I am sure a lot was gained and it was worth the struggle, I know in the times when I joined the class as either a leader or follower, it was definitely helping everyone. But this was one class that I was more than happy to just watch, when trying to dance with three balloons the comic effect was indescribable. Sharon had been asked about volcadas by some one who had seen Strictly Come Dancin. She decided wisely to show the basics but not how to lead into one. Everyone wants to run before they can walk. Even though this class have advanced amazingly, they are not yet ready for moves this advanced.

Thank you to those who sent me birthday wishes, it is nice to know people care. There was an absence of dances and we were planning to just go for an Indian, but at the last minute Steve invited us to join him at Cricieth.

There are regular coach trips to the Lion Hotel, groups of, usually pensioner, who stay for tinsel and turkey breaks. ( Christmas comes from mid October until mid February) Steve is one of the regular acts who appear. You never know what he is going to do as it all depends on the crowd.

Anyway, last night we had a wonderful meal there, after which we sat out and waited for the entertainment. ( the waiter said we could stay, to which I replied that we had no option as we lived fifty miles away and had come with Steve).

As he got started we had a waltz but only one other couple joined us. It did not look as if we would get much dancing. Although I did lead a conga chain (Steve always singles me out) the only other dance we got was a foxtrot at the end. To be fair they were a difficult crowd, but even Sharon (Steve’s wife) enjoyed the show, so he was on top form, and everyone left happy in the end.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Feliz Navidad

  1. tangobob

    Hi Rick
    You might get a bit more insight if you read about me. But basically you can enjoy the music whilst holding a beautiful woman and get good excercise.
    Personally I have never understood what people get out of going to the gym, it is just a case of to each his own.
    A good teacher is important, they have to understand what you want to get out of it. Most of the teachers that I have come across want to turn all their pupils into competition dancers, for me it has never been about being on “Strictly” but a wonderful social occasion.
    While I would never claim to be mister super fit, I think that my body is in far better condition than most others my age, who come home and collapse in front of the tele, or if they do go out prop up a bar.

  2. Hi:
    What is there to like about dancing? I enjoy watching good dancers dance, but I have never caught the bug. What am i missing? What will I gain by dancing?

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

