Tango with Sven

As I have previously published, my posture when tango dancing is terrible.  I hope my use of the present tense is now a mistake. The class we took part in on Saturday with Sven and Atilla I think has finally cured me.

This miracle was brought about by the unusual teaching methods of Sven Froese. One of the unusual things he had us doing was walking around the room, just like a beginners class but the ladies would join the men, whilst the men would not break step,then leave again to join another man.

He also made a point of leading with the solar plexus. You cannot do this and tuck the woman under your arm, believe me. The world has now lost it’s number one underarm dancer, I really am cured.

We spent some time in the second class doing crosses in cross system and uncrossing. While Viv had done this before, I had not, at least not in a formal class. However I was not letting this distract me from my main aim which was not to improve my posture. So I must apologise to those ladies who wanted to do what was being taught, as once again I chose to ignore most of what was being said. If I got nothing else from the weekend it was worth it just for that improvement in posture.

After the class we had to freeze our ears off in Wilmslow for three hours, as the legion wanted the room at Three thirty and the evening dance was not due to start until seven thirty. I did enjoy my fish, chips and peas at the Bollin Fee, although the peas were cold. Still you can’t complain at two meals for £7.10  We arrived early which gave us plenty of time to get ready, not that I needed much time to shave , change my shirt, and put on my mask.

What can I say about the dance, the Christmas masked ball. As far as I could tell everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. The masks did not stay all night as I think most people got a little too hot. Live music was supplied by “Frambuesas con Nata” who as usual brought the house down. Viv managed to stay incognito, while her joke shop wig was mistaken for a new hair do.

Finally I must mention the demo given by Atilla and Sven, the standard of dancing was superb as always. They gave a demonstration of pure salon tango, all improvised.  It goes to show that good dancers do not need heavy choreographed routines, like “strictly” or the tourista rubbish that is starting to creep in in some of the salons.

I forgot my camera again I am afraid, but I am hoping some kind person who was there will donate a few pics for me. Any offers??

2 Comments

Filed under Dance Venues and Schools

2 responses to “Tango with Sven

  1. tangobob

    Hi Anna
    Always glad to help, give me a nudge on Monday and I will try to explain.

  2. You’ll have to explain to me about the ‘solar plexus’ sometime. I missed that workshop and I think it would be useful for me, especially as my bump challenges my axis more and more.

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

