Keep Calm and Tango

I’ve been getting some complaints lately about what is happening to tango here and they have given me food for thought. For me, if the music is good little else matters, but I can understand why people get upset.
The first complaint is about the cliques, this I understand. I arrive at many milongas with an entourage, usually more women than men. This causes me a problem; The one thing I am complaining about, people not circulating, I become guilty of myself. You see, how can I go around the room and dance with all the other ladies if no man will come over and dance with the ladies I bring? It is a problem that I have no answer for. I think it comes down to teachers and organisers. Down in Southampton when we went last year we were welcomed in and the men were lining up to dance with Viv, this left me free to dance with as many ladies as I could fit in. I put this down totally on Dele and his welcoming attitude. Now I am not saying that other places do not welcome us, they do, but the men definitely need to come out of their shells.
Then we have the posers, who circulate the milongas and only dance with the best, leaving many sitting alone and often having crisis of confidence. Trust me on this, the only way to get to be the best is to dance more. The more we circulate and dance with others the more good dancers will evolve. It is not just altruism, we create more good dancers and we ourselves get more good dances. Some day someone better will come along and take the good dancers up then you will have to dance with the beginners yourself or just sit out like the wallflowers you created.
Then finally we have my pet hate; criticism, we men are sensitive creatures and do not respond well to criticism. Women who tell the men that their dancing is rubbish, only have themselves to blame when no one will dance with them. Women, I know, also have to put up with this abuse. So we end up with a room full of people who will not dance for fear of being corrected on the dance floor.
Truth is, no matter how bad your dancing nobody should have the right to comment during a dance. A milonga is a social dance, a place to socialize and meet new people. If you want to improve your dancing go to a class, or just quietly practice. Don’t take your failures out on others, because, lets face it, if you can’t lead, or follow, your partner, it is as much your fault as it is theirs.

5 Comments

Filed under Tango

5 responses to “Keep Calm and Tango

  1. Different, but the teachers would not make as much money.

    Perhaps they could learn to be satisfied with making a few more dancers :)

  2. tangobob

    Different, but the teachers would not make as much money.

  3. Bob wrote: “Trust me on this, the only way to get to be the best is to dance more.

    So true. If this were the first thing every dancer here was was taught, how different the UK tango scene would be …

  4. tangobob

    I did a spot at Shrewsbury on 29th November. Then on 28th December Saltney Tavern, Bob’s freedom milonga, all traditional music. I am also DJ at Rodington on 1st January. So the Bob Roadshow has begun.

  5. Isn’t it about time for you and Viv to host a milonga? You know what good music is and how to make people feel welcome. And no cliques allowed.

Please comment, I love to hear your views.

